Thursday, 17 July 2025

Guidance from the Seers - A Mythic Bastionland FAQ

Sticking this here for ease of access and update. 

With thanks to Udy Kumra in the discord for getting this started.


Do Scars remove Virtues permanently?

No. They are temporary as standard. If it's a permanent change (typically only from ageing or weird Myth stuff) it will specifically say so.


Do Myths have to be placed where they make sense (for example, The Sea Myth next to an actual sea)?

Not necessarily. As explained on page 27, "Myths may appear at odds with their Realm, such as The Sea in a desert." Of course, you can tweak Myth placement for where it would make sense, or tweak your map to match your Myths. 


Does Damage + Bolster happen before Gambits or after? For example can you trap a shield to remove armor before damage?

Per the Attack procedure on page 8, all gambits are performed before any damage is dealt.


When should I replace/restock a Myth after the players have resolved it?

Per the rules on page 27, a Myth is replaced the season after the players have resolved it.


How do I convert stat blocks from 5e or other games to design my own monsters/opponents?

See these blog posts:
https://www.bastionland.com/2020/03/bastionland-non-conversion-guide.html
https://www.bastionland.com/2023/01/beasts-vicious-and-knowing.html


Do the knights have to be connected to the seers on their page?

By default, your knight is knighted by the Seer on their page. That doesn't mean that that Seer is present in the Realm the players are exploring in the game, however. If knighting a squire, you don't need to seek out a specific Seer (unless you wish to); any Seer can make your squire into a knight. As with most setting-related questions your world may vary. 


What are players allowed to see/what is on your player facing map?

In most of my games players get a copy of the map with Holdings and general terrain marked. They cannot see Myths, Landmarks, and Barriers. You can vary this to taste but this method works well for me. 


Does Smite blast hit allies?

Technically Blast attacks hit everything in their blast, but I'm usually pretty generous for where the Knight is "aiming" the blast from Smite. If it's a tight, jumbled melee then I'd warn the player that their allies will be hit too. 


When should the Unresolved Situations table be used? For every Myth?

It is a tool available for your use whenever you are uncertain about how a situation would progress between seasons or ages. I use it more often for non-Myth stuff, like struggles faced by a holding, but it is your tool to use as needed. 

I generally advise against advancing the Myths "off screen" though. I'm happy to have them remain relatively static between the seasons or ages, then the game time focuses on the Knights actually dealing with them. 


Can you resolve a myth before the last omen?

Yes, use your judgement for whether it feels resolved.


Is the way to resolve a myth basically up to the players and I decide whether or not that works?

Yes. But it also doesn't always have to be a solution, nor does it have to be successful. A Myth is resolved when the whole group feels that its story has been told and finished. Glory is earned if the players were a meaningful part of that story—even if they failed, or the resolution wasn't solving it.


Can a myth only be "solved" in the myth's hex?

Nope, it can be resolved anywhere.


Do I tell the players when they stumble upon a myth hex? If not, how would they find out that this exact hex is the origin of the myth?

This is your choice how you do it, but it's important to remember that per the rulebook, the landscape is warped by the presence of the Myth, so you should describe it in a way that makes it clear this is a weird hex.


How much Virtue should a Knight lose when they trigger virtue loss through the action procedure or other non-specific means?

It's a sliding scale from d4 at the mildest end to d12 for something really bad. If in doubt go with d6. 


Do the players know which Myth an Omen comes from?

No, I don't tell them. Some will be more obvious than others, and of course Seers know what's up. For this reason the Wilderness Roll is actually one of the only rolls I'd recommend doing hidden from the players. 


What does "Wounded" do?

Nothing on its own. It's just there to show that you've lost VIG as a result of damage, which can help in descriptive terms, and also interacts with other specific abilities found in the Knights and Myths.


When Jousting or Duelling who gets to Deny first?

Remember that Denying happens before Gambits (p8) and so it can actually be resolved simultaneously before moving onto the Gambit step. 


Do qualities like Blast from a Smite or the Gallows Knight's neck-catcher weapon affect all attacks in a group's attack pool or just the Knight using that Feat/Ability?

Unless noted otherwise they only affects the Knight's own attack dice. For this reason it's sometimes important to keep track of which die belongs to which Knight when rolled together.


Can non-Knights use Gambits/Feats?

Anyone can use Gambits. Only Knights can use Feats, unless noted as an exception in their entry. 
For animals I'd use Gambits as feels appropriate. Your steed probably isn't trained to disarm an enemy, even if they can trample!


Please direct any remaining questions to the Screaming Seer.




13 comments:

  1. Hi Chris, just a couple heads-up, since you intend to update this page:

    The URLs in the stat block conversion answer aren't showing as clickable links.

    There's a typo ("worlds" instead of "works") in the player facing map answer.

    And by the way, congratulations for MB's recent surge in popularity. Due to Quinns' review, I suppose? "Fully deserved" is an understatement!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the FAQ! I do have a question that I’m having trouble tracking down in the rulebook. The Seat of Power and City quest seem intentionally vague but is there a true monarch over the realm? I know my players will have questions about this and I’m hoping to clear this up beforehand. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The ruler of the Seat of Power is the ruler of the Realm you're playing in, and generally the other Holdings either hold fealty to them or are in some sort of conflict with them.

      The City is a separate thing entirely.

      Delete
  3. in the Hound myth, The Hound in Flesh is supposed to "fight to the death" but has no attacks listed. i understood this to mean all its attacks are unarmed. my friend says its a mistake and the hound in flesh should have the same Jaws(2d8) attack as the other two hounds. our 3rd friend insists it is a purposeful decision implying the ref should invent attacks and damage values. i was wondering what the intent is?

    also, we've managed to get one session in so far where we ran the hound myth with Horde Knight, Questing Knight, and Saddle Knight, and we are all obsessed. absolutely incredible game! really cool. love it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Unfortunately the missing attack on the Hound in Flesh is an error. I'd recommend using the same Jaws (2d8) as previous iterations of the Hound.

      Delete
  4. Hi Chris. This game is really beautiful. How does blast play out with gambits? Does the knight roll a full set of dice for each opponent, and can then perform gambits against each one individually? Seems like that could result in a knight taking a huge number of gambits in a round!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Blast means you roll the attack dice individually for each target, so yeah you can get a number of Gambits off that way.

      Delete
    2. Thanks for the reply. For the record the source of the confusion for me is that sometimes the word "attack" seems to refer to a die and other times to all the dice. I have the same confusion with impaired, where a die could be reduced to d4 or otherwise the whole dice pool could be reduced to d4. Of course one can find a way to rule around the uncertainty, but that was the thing that raised questions from me. Looking forward to running the game for the first time tomorrow, found the videos very helpful!

      Delete
  5. I had a question about transitioning through ranks, I assume nothing changes but wanted to confirm that there is no actual change to the knight between being errant and gallant for example. The virtue shifts only come on the age transition? Been having a blast playing btw. Very fun.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Moving up a rank improves your worthiness, which is a sort of social standing and legitimacy to take on things like ruling a holding etc.

      It doesn't affect your virtues, they (normally) only change with age, and Guard (normally) only changes through receiving Scars in combat.

      Delete
  6. On page 8, there are rules about when to apply scars:

    "If it leaves them with exactly 0GD then they
    gain a Scar (p9).
    If it exceeds the target’s GD, the excess is
    deducted from VIG and they are Wounded."

    There are a number of ways I can interpret this, and I'm wondering which of these are intended.
    1. If a character has 6 guard, then only exactly 6 damage will scar them. 7 damage would just reduce their VIG and wound them.
    2. If a character has 6 guard, then any amount of damage 6 or more will scar them, in addition to any wounding or VIG loss effects.
    3. If a character has 0 guard before the attack, then they have already been scarred during this bought of danger and further damage is just deducted from their VIG, with wounding applied as normal.
    4. If a character has 0 guard, then for each attack, any amount of damage will scar them again.
    5. If a character has 0 guard, then even 0 damage (after subtracting armor score) will scar them, as by rules as written they are still left with exactly 0GD during the damage step.

    I suspect the intention is 2 and 4.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Scars only happen if you get reduced to exactly 0gd with no damage remaining.
      So in your examples, 1 is the only situation where you'd get a scar. 3 is also correct.

      Delete